Founding Editor

Related Links

Professor Mark Wahlqvist

  1. Books
  2. Book Chapters
  3. Published research and review papers in refereed scientific journals (1964-2000) (2001-)
  4. Occasional Papers
  5. Monographs and Reports
  6. Abstracts and Papers published in Conference Proceedings


  • 1963 BMedSc(Hons)(Adelaide)
  • 1966 MB, BS (Adelaide)
  • 1970 MD(Adelaide) for the thesis 'Arterial wall metabolism and atherogenesis'
  • 1972 MD(Uppsala) for the thesis 'Substrate and hormone inter-relationships in human myocardial metabolism'.


  • 1975 MRACP (Member, Royal Australasian College of Physicians)
  • 1978 FRACP (Fellow, Royal Australasian College of Physicians)
  • 1982 FAIFST (Fellow, Australian Institute of Food Science & Technology)
  • 1988 FACN (Fellow of American College of Nutrition)
  • 1993 FAFPHM (Fellow, Australasian Faculty of Public Health Medicine)
  • 2002 FTSE (Fellow, Australian Academy of Technological Sciences & Engineering)


  • Charlotta Medal, Sweden, 1994
  • Australian Institute of Food Science & Technology – Food Industry Innovation Award, 1998
  • Officer of the Order of Australia (AO), Australia Day, 26th January 2000
  • Honorary Bataknese, Title conferred October 2002  with traditional dress by the Simalungan Bupati, North Sumatra,  Indonesia, for services to the health of Bataknese women (Covered by Indonesia’s National TV network)
  • Life Honorary Member, British Nutrition Society, 2003;Honorary Fellow, 2016
  • EV McCollum International Lecture, American Society for Nutritional Sciences, 21st Septermber 2005
  • Lifetime Achievement Award ,Asia  Pacific Nutrition Society ,2011
  • Distinguished Foreign Fellow, Chinese Nutrition Society, 2015
  • Honorary Fellow, British Nutrition Society, 2016
  • Living Legend of the IUNS (International Union of Nutritional Sciences) 2017


  • 1966 Resident Medical Officer, Royal Adelaide Hospital
  • 1967 Research Assistant, Department of Physiology, University of Melbourne
  • 1967-1969 Tutor in Physiology, University College, University of Melbourne
  • 1968-1970 Research Fellow, National Heart Foundation of Australia, Department of Physiology, University of Melbourne.
  • 1970-1971 Overseas Research Fellow, Life Insurance Medical Research Fund of Australia & New Zealand, King Gustaf Research Institute, Karolinska Hospital, Stockholm, Sweden.
  • 1971-1972 Research Fellow, Department of Geriatrics, University of Uppsala, Sweden.
  • 1972 Visiting Fellow, Department of Clinical Science, John Curtin School of Medical Research, Australian National University.
  • 1973-1975 Honorary Fellow and Registrar, Department of Clinical Science, Australian National University, Canberra Hospital.
  • 1975 Physician to the Diabetic Clinic, Endocrine Department, Woden Valley, Hospital, Australian Capital Territory.
  • 1976-1977 Senior Lecturer, Department of Medicine, Monash University, Prince'Henry's Hospital, Melbourne.
  • Visiting In-patient and Out-patient Physician, Prince Henry's Hospital, Melbourne.
  • Diabetic Physician and Lipid Clinic Physician, Prince Henry's Hospital, Melbourne.
  • 1978-1987 Foundation Professor of Human Nutrition, Department of Human Nutrition, Division of Biological and Health Sciences, Deakin University, Geelong, Victoria, Australia.
  • 1978- Consultant Physician (Endocrine and Diabetes), Prince Henry's Hospital, Melbourne.
  • 1978-1982 Consultant Nutritionist, Alcoa of Australia.
  • 1979- Honorary Consulting Physician, Geelong Hospital, Geelong, Victoria.
  • 1979-1986 Clinical Teacher, Faculty of Medicine, Monash University.
  • 1979-1986 Associate, Department of Medicine, Monash University, Melbourne.
  • 1980- Consultant Nutritionist, ADAB, Department of Foreign Affairs, Australian Government.
  • 1982-1986 Chairman, Dietitians Board of Victoria.
  • 1982- Director, Clinical Nutrition & Metabolism Unit, Prince Henry's Hospital.
  • 1983-1986 Honorary Senior Associate, National Research Institute of Genontology & Geriatric Medicine, Melbourne.
  • 1983- Honorary Clinical Nutritionist, Betlehem Hospital, Melbourne.
  • 1985-1987 Director, Deakin Institute of Human Nutrition.
  • 1987-2002 Professor of Medicine, Monash University, Melbourne.
  • 1987- Honorary Consultant Physician, Little Company of Mary Hospital, Melbourne
  • 1987-1994 Chairman, Division of Medicine, Monash Medical Centre Hospital
  • 1992-Editor-in-Chief Asia Pacific Journal of Clinical Nutrition
  • 1990- Professorial Associate, Deakin Institute of Human Nutrition
  • 1999-2002 Associate Dean, International Health and Development, Faculty of Medicine, Monash University
  • 1999- Chair, Asia Pacific Health and Nutrition Centre, Monash Asia Institute, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia
  • 1999- Chair, FAO (Food & Agriculture Organization of UN) Centre of Excellence, Monash University
  • 2002-2005 Professor, Health & Behavioural Sciences, Deakin University
  • 2002- Visiting Professor in Food Science, Biotechnology & Environmental Engineering, Hangzhou University of Commerce, China.
  • 2003- Honorary Professor, Epidemiology & Preventive Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, Monash University
  • 2005- Visiting Professor in Medicine, Food and Nutrition Science, Zhejiang University, Zhejiang Province, China
  • 2006-2009 Immediate Past President of the International Union of Nutritional Sciences
  • 2005- Visiting Professor in Food Safety & Nutrition Science, Zhejiang University, Zhejiang Province, China
  • 2007- Adjunct Professor, School of Public Health, National Defense Medical Center, Taipei, Taiwan
  • 2007-2008 & 2010-Visiting Professor, Center for Health Policy Research and Development, National Health Research Institutes, Taiwan
  • 2008-Investigator, Center for Health Policy Research and Development, National Health Research Institutes, Taiwan
  • 2011-Emeritus Professor, Monash University, Australia
  • 2012-Honorary Professor, Deakin University, Australia
  • 2013-2016 Director, Fuli Institute of Food Science and Nutrition, Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China
  • 2016- Adjunct Professor, School of Allied Health, College of Science, Health and Engineering, La Trobe University
  • 2017- Distinguished Professor, China Medical University, Taiwan

Copyright © APJCN. All rights reserved.